discrimination in housing; The Fair Housing Act

    You know what whenever I hear some f*cker discriminate I get so mad I can’t see straight and I think to myself, how is this even possible that I’m having this conversation!? After all it’s 2019 for crying out loud! But apparently there are still people who don’t get it, so I’m posting this in an effort to help all landlords and home sellers be a decent person, and to help tenants and home buyers stand up for what’s legal and ethical and fair. Here’s the Fair Housing Act 101:

    The Fair Housing Act

    The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting or buying a home, getting a mortgage, seeking housing assistance, or engaging in other housing-related activities. Additional protections apply to federally-assisted housing.

    The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing because of:

    • Race
    • Color
    • National Origin
    • Religion
    • Sex
    • Familial Status
    • Disability

    When the Fair Housing Act was first enacted, it prohibited discrimination only on the basis of race, color, religion, and national origin. Sex was added as a protectedcharacteristic in 1974. … In 2017, a federal judge ruled that sexual orientation and gender identity are protected classes under the Fair Housing Act.

    Which gives us a total of seven FEDERALLY PROTECTED discriminations.

    What Is Prohibited?

    In the Sale and Rental of Housing:

    It is illegal discrimination to take any of the following actions because of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin:

    • Refuse to rent or sell housing
    • Refuse to negotiate for housing
    • Otherwise make housing unavailable
    • Set different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling
    • Provide a person different housing services or facilities
    • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale or rental
    • Make, print or publish any notice, statement or advertisement with respect to the sale or rental of a dwelling that indicates any preference, limitation or discrimination
    • Impose different sales prices or rental charges for the sale or rental of a dwelling
    • Use different qualification criteria or applications, or sale or rental standards or procedures, such as income standards, application requirements, application fees, credit analyses, sale or rental approval procedures or other requirements
    • Evict a tenant or a tenant’s guest
    • Harass a person
    • Fail or delay performance of maintenance or repairs
    • Limit privileges, services or facilities of a dwelling
    • Discourage the purchase or rental of a dwelling
    • Assign a person to a particular building or neighborhood or section of a building or neighborhood
    • For profit, persuade, or try to persuade, homeowners to sell their homes by suggesting that people of a particular protected characteristic are about to move into the neighborhood (blockbusting)
    • Refuse to provide or discriminate in the terms or conditions of homeowners insurance because of the race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin of the owner and/or occupants of a dwelling
    • Deny access to or membership in any multiple listing service or real estate brokers’ organization

    For more information and examples, visit Examples of Housing Discrimination.

    In Mortgage Lending:

    It is illegal discrimination to take any of the following actions based on race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin:

    • Refuse to make a mortgage loan or provide other financial assistance for a dwelling
    • Refuse to provide information regarding loans
    • Impose different terms or conditions on a loan, such as different interest rates, points, or fees
    • Discriminate in appraising a dwelling
    • Condition the availability of a loan on a person’s response to harassment
    • Refuse to purchase a loan

    For more information about discrimination in mortgage lending, visit Fair Lending.


    The Fair Housing Act makes it illegal to harass persons because of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin. Among other things, this forbids sexual harassment. Learn more about sexual harassment here.

    Other Prohibitions:

    In addition, it is illegal discrimination to:

    • Threaten, coerce, intimidate or interfere with anyone exercising a fair housing right or assisting others who exercise the right
    • Retaliate against a person who has filed a fair housing complaint or assisted in a fair housing investigation


    For more information about advertising and the Fair Housing Act, visit Advertising and Marketing.

    Additional Protections For Persons With Disabilities:

    Housing providers must make reasonable accommodations and allow reasonable modifications that may be necessary to allow persons with disabilities to enjoy their housing. Get more information about reasonable accommodation here.

    Certain multifamily housing must be accessible to persons with disabilities. Get more information here.



    All info provided from: https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/fair_housing_act_overview

    Contact Us Now

    Any questions, comments, or feedback